Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Basic Principles of Ayurveda

The word ‘Ayus’ meaning life addresses the well-being of the body, mind, and the soul as the human being is formed by all three.   The human body comprises of the five elements of the universe namely ‘Pancha Mahabhootas’ and ‘Mans the mind and ‘Atman’ the soul along with time namely Kaala, and direction, Dik.

Related: Ayurvedic Lifestyles

In essence, Ayurvedic treatment is aimed at the health of the body but also the mind.  It is not aimed at treating the external symptoms of the body but the individual as a whole. This helps in eliminating the toxic elements restoring the natural resistance to diseases and maintaining good health.

The Three Doshas

Ayurveda system is based on the basic principle that there are three life energies called ‘doshas’ namely, Vata, Pitta, and Kapha that form the basis of human life. The ratio in which these doshas are present in an individual determines his body constitution. Any disturbance in the balance of the doshas leads to disorders.

‘Vata dosha’ is caused mainly by Ether or  ‘Akash’ & Air ‘Vayu’,

‘Pitta dosha’ is caused mainly by of Fire ‘Tejas’ and

‘Kapha dosha’ is caused mainly by water ‘Aap’ and  Earth (‘Prithvi’).

Related: Importance Of Knowing Ayurvedic Doshas

Ayurveda Nadi

Related:  How Ayurveda Works


The constitution of the doshas makes each person unique and this is known as the individual’s Prakruti. Identifying the person’s Prakruti helps in deciding the line of treatment to cure as well as preventing the disease.  According to the Ayurveda principle, the daily nutritional guidelines with health routine and specific lifestyle are suggested according to the person’s Prakruti. When there is disorder herbal medications are suggested along with lifestyle changes to cure the imbalance and to maintain lasting health. For example, the Ayurvedic physician advises on what foods to eat, what is to be avoided, etc. Thus the sick patient is cured and a healthy person can improve immunity and strength.

Related: Pharmacology Of Ayurveda

Other Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Ayurveda is based on the theory that different elements of the universe are present in the human body and the health of the person depends upon the balance of these elements both internally and externally. The different factors affecting the physical and mental health of a person are also explained.  The different processes involved in the body are known as Agni, Ahaar Pachan, Dhatu Poshan, Dosha Dhatu Mala, Oja, and Purusha. Purusha is the higher consciousness called Atman in Ayurveda.

Related: Analgesics In Ayurveda

Stomach Massage

Related: Importance And Types Of Sleep Or Nidra In Ayurveda

Agni: The meaning of Agni is the fire which denotes metabolic activity. Ayurveda discusses 13 types of Agni taking place in the metabolic process.  They represent the various enzymes produced in the process of digestion of food.

Dhatus: The tissues in the body are called Dhatus consisting of bone, fat, reproductive fluid, muscle, blood, plasma, and marrow.  The balance in the quality and quantity of all these is vital to the healthy functioning of all organs.

Related: Treatment Procedures In Ayurveda

Mala: The waste materials resulting from metabolism are known as malas. Examples of mala are urine, feces, and sweat. When they get accumulated inside the body, it is prone to diseases.

Srota: Srotas are the channels that help in the transportation of food and Dhatus and Malas. If there is an obstruction there may be disorders in the body.

The basic principle of Ayurveda is based on the belief that harmony between the individual and the universe through balanced and healthy living.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *